Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Published:  30 Jun 2022

2022 European Heritage Awards winners announced

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have announced the winners of the 2022 European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards.

The annual EU prize for cultural heritage rewards 30 excellent initiatives and outstanding personalities from 18 European countries representing the latest developments and priorities related to heritage policy and practice in Europe.

These are the winners in each category

Conservation and Adaptive Reuse

  • Aachen Battery, Atlantikwall Raversyde, West-Flanders, Belgium
  • Villa E-1027, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
  • Monument of Episkopi, Sikinos, Greece
  • Atlungstad Distillery, Ottestad, Norway
  • Convent of the Capuchos, Sintra, Portugal
  • House of Religious Freedom, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
  • Illa del Rei, Menorca, Spain
  • St. Andrew’s Church, Kyiv, Ukraine


  • Heritage Opportunities/threats within Mega-Events in Europe (HOMEE), Cyprus / Italy / Poland / United Kingdom
  • SILKNOW, France / Germany / Italy / Poland / Slovenia / Spain
  • Heritage Quest, the Netherlands
  • Safeguarding of Sicilian Puppet Theatre, Italy

Education, Training and Skills

  • Masters and Apprentices, Finland
  • International Course on Wood Conservation Technology, Norway
  • TISH Jewish Food Festival, Warsaw, Poland
  • Piscu School Museum and Workshop, Romania
  • Sewn Signs, Romania
  • Symphony, Spain

Citizens’ Engagement and Awareness-raising

  • Rivers of Sofia, Bulgaria
  • Return to the Sámi Homeland, Finland
  • Swapmuseum, Apulia, Italy
  • Va' Sentiero, Italy
  • “Lumbardhi Public Again” Project, Prizren, Kosovo*
  • Museum in the Village, Portugal
  • PAX-Patios de la Axerquía, Córdoba, Spain
  • Wikipedra, Spain
  • World Vyshyvanka Day, Ukraine

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

Heritage Champions

Costa Carras †, Athens, Greece (posthumously)
La Paranza Cooperative, Naples, Italy
Elżbieta Szumska, Złoty Stok, Poland

In addition, a Europa Nostra Award is presented to a remarkable heritage achievement from a European country not taking part in the EU Creative Europe programme:
Kenan Yavuz Ethnography Museum, Bayburt, Turkey (Citizens’ Engagement and Awareness-raising)

Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, warmly congratulates all the winners for the exceptional quality of their work and their openness to innovation.

2022 is a special year as we are celebrating the 20th anniversary of the EU prize for cultural heritage, which has become the most prominent award for the European heritage community. Many of the awarded initiatives demonstrate the enormous interest and engagement of young people for our heritage, our history and our cultural identity, which is particularly relevant in this European Year of Youth. A special thought goes to the two Ukrainian laureates. Creative Europe, which is co-funding the awards, stands for promoting culture and creativity in building inclusive and cohesive societies founded on our core European values.

– said the Commissioner.

Vote for the Public Choice Award winner online

The European Heritage Awards Ceremony will celebrate the winners on 26 September in Prague. Mariya Gabriel, and Europa Nostra’s Executive President, Prof. Dr. Hermann Parzinger will be co-hosting the event.

The Grand Prix laureates and the Public Choice Award winner, chosen from among the winning projects and entitled to receive €10 000 each, will be announced during the Ceremony.

Between mid-August and mid-September, heritage supporters and enthusiasts are encouraged to vote online for the Public Choice Award.

Tagged in:  Protecting cultural heritage
Published:  30 Jun 2022