Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Published:  13 Jun 2023

2023 European Heritage Awards winners announced

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have announced the winners of the 2023 European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards.

European Heritage Awards 2023 collage of winners

The annual EU prize for cultural heritage rewards 28 excellent initiatives and outstanding personalities from 20 European countries representing the latest developments and priorities related to heritage policy and practice in Europe.

These are the winners in each category

Conservation & Adaptive Reuse

Steam Engine Brewery, Lobeč, CZECHIA

Friluftsskolen Open-Air School, Copenhagen, DENMARK

Hôtel de la Marine, Paris, FRANCE

Royal Gardens of Venice, ITALY

Museum of Urban Wooden Architecture, Vilnius, LITHUANIA

Wit Stwosz Altarpiece in St. Mary’s Basilica, Kraków, POLAND

Mudéjar Ceilings of the Cathedral of Funchal, Madeira, PORTUGAL

Deba Bridge, Gipuzkoa, SPAIN

Ruins of the Monastery of San Pedro de Eslonza, Gradefes, SPAIN


Scientific-Archaeological Studies for the Preservation of Ererouyk, ARMENIA/FRANCE

Proto-Industrial Architecture of the Veneto in the Age of Palladio, ITALY

Safeguarding of the Artisanal Fishing Technique “Arte-Xávega”, PORTUGAL

Education, Training & Skills



Carpenters without Borders, Paris, FRANCE

National Centres for Restoration of Historic Vessels, NORWAY

Pathfinders of the Waters, Danube Delta, ROMANIA

Citizens’ Engagement & Awareness-raising

Village Square Meer, Antwerp, BELGIUM

Budapest100, HUNGARY

Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI), Dublin, IRELAND

Open for You, ITALY

ALMADA Project, Lisbon, PORTUGAL

Via Transilvanica, ROMANIA

Un-archiving Post-industry, UKRAINE

Heritage Champions

Hambis Tsangaris, CYPRUS

Sergio Ragni, ITALY

Cláudio Torres, PORTUGAL

Saving Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Online (SUCHO), UKRAINE/INTERNATIONAL PROJECT


European Commission Vice-President for Promoting our European Way of Life, Margaritis Schinas, congratulated all the winners:
Each winning achievement of this year’s European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards is the result of extraordinary skills and commitment, collective and individual, spanning heritage places and traditions across Europe. By honouring these achievements, we also reiterate our firm commitment to protecting our shared cultural heritage, because it is vital for our sense of togetherness as citizens and communities of Europe.

Awards ceremony in September at the European Cultural Heritage Summit

The award ceremony will take place on 28 September in Venice, at the European Cultural Heritage Summit 2023. The summit that Europa Nostra organises with the support of the European Commission, takes place from 27 to 30 September.

Vote on your favourite project for the Public Choice Award

The Grand Prix laureates and the Public Choice Award winner will be announced during the ceremony. These are chosen from this year’s winning projects and are both entitled to receive €10 000 each.

Heritage supporters and enthusiasts are now encouraged to discover the winners and vote online to decide who will win the Public Choice Award 2023.

In addition to the winners above, there are two winning projects from the United Kingdom as well. As they cannot benefit from the EU programme, they are honoured with a separate ‘Europa Nostra Award’.

Tagged in:  Creative Europe
Published:  13 Jun 2023