Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Published:  14 Jan 2022

40 works shortlisted for the 2022 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The jury has shortlisted 40 works from the 532 nominations for the EU Mies Award 2022. From 18 different countries, the shortlisted works are a fair representation of collective housing and cultural building projects in Europe.

The 7 members of the international jury – Tatiana Bilbao (chairwoman), Francesca Ferguson, Mia Hägg, Triin Ojari, Georg Pendl, Spiros Pengas and Marcel Smets and representatives of the European Commission met in Barcelona in November 2021 to evaluate the 532 nominations and draft a shortlist of 40.

Contributing to the debate on quality architecture’s positive impact

The 40 shortlisted works highlight the opportunities and the trends of architecture in Europe. The prize contributes to the debate on quality architecture’s positive impacts for European people by focusing on social inclusion, sustainability, circularity, and aesthetic research. Ultimately, it raises awareness of the need to achieve equity and democracy through inclusion and acceptance of diversity.

The 5 finalist works will be announced on February 16. The jury members will then visit these 5 finalists. The Architecture and Emerging Winners will be announced in mid-April in Brussels. The award ceremony will take place in May at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

The winner receives €60.000 and a sculpture representing the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion of Barcelona. The Emerging Architect Winner receives €20.000 with the sculpture. The finalists and the project supporters (those who commission the buildings) also receive the sculpture, recognizing their essential contributions to contemporary architecture.

About the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Award is awarded every second year to works completed by architects from Creative Europe participating countries, within the previous 2 years, and exceptionally, for this selection of 2022, 2,5 years.

The principal objectives of the prize are to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture. It also highlights the important contribution of European professionals to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment.

Useful links

Tagged in:  Creative Europe
Published:  14 Jan 2022