Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Published:  20 Nov 2018

Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2019: 12 winners selected

The winners of the new Music Moves Europe Awards were announced on 20 November 2018. The 12 laureates represent the European sound of today and tomorrow. and will be celebrated at the Award Ceremony at ESNS (Eurosonic Noorderslag) in Groningen (NL) on 16 January 2019.

This year’s laureats in six categories/music genres are:

  • Bishop Briggs (UK) and Lxandra (FI) [Pop],
  • Pale Waves (UK) and Pip Blom (NL) [Rock],
  • Smerz (NO) Stelartronic (AT) [Electronic],
  • Rosalía (ES) and Aya Nakamura (FR) [RnB/Urban],
  • Blackwave. (BE), Reykjavíkurdætur (IS) [Hip Hop/Rap],
  • Avec (AT) and Albin Lee Meldau (SE) [Singer-songwriter].


The public can now vote online for its favourite artist in each category. The winners of the Public Choice Awards will be revealed at the Award Ceremony on 16 January 2019 in Groningen (NL).


All winners will receive a prize package worth 5 000 EUR for tour and promotion support and a tailor-made training programme. In addition, they are able to perform at ESNS and receive free publicity.


Succeeding the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), the annual Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union –  with the additional support of the Municipality of Groningen, Province of Groningen and the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science. The awards are presented by ESNS and the Reeperbahn Festival – in cooperation with Yourope, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA), International Music Managers Forum (IMMF), Liveurope, Live DMA, European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE) and Digital Music Europe (DME).


Tagged in:  Creative Europe
Published:  20 Nov 2018