Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Published:  20 Feb 2024

Seven finalists announced for the 2024 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The international jury has chosen seven outstanding works from the 40 shortlisted, of which five are for the Architecture category and two are for the Emerging category.

Seven finalists of the 2024 EU Mies Awards

Good practices and references for local city policies

The seven works serve as references for local city policies as they create high-quality inclusive living environments. They transform and improve the living conditions of small communities in places that have been left behind: former industrial areas, small rural villages, and city peripheries. Works in bigger cities are implemented in peripheric areas, building strong associations with the existing neighbourhoods.

The seven works selected dignify everyday architecture, the built spaces where we live, learn, meet and enjoy ourselves.

These are the five Architecture Finalist works

  • Plato Contemporary Art Gallery in Ostrava, Moravia-Silesia (Czech Republic) by KWK Promes (Katowice, Poland)
  • Study Pavilion on the Campus of the Technical University of Braunschweig, Lower Saxony (Germany) by Gustav Düsing & Max Hacke (Berlin, Germany)
  • Reggio School in Madrid, Community of Madrid (Spain), by Andres Jaque / Office For Political Innovation (Madrid, Spain)
  • Rebirth of the Convent Saint-François in Sainte-Lucie-de-Tallano / Santa Lucia de Tallà, Corsica (France) by Amelia Tavella Architectes (Aix en Provence, France)
  • Häge in Lund (Sweden) by Brendeland & Kristoffersen architects (Oslo, Norway)

These are the two Emerging Architecture finalist works

  • Gabriel García Márquez Library in Barcelona, Catalonia, (Spain) by SUMA arquitectura (Madrid, Spain)
  • Square and Tourist Office in Piódão, Central Portugal, by Branco del Rio (Coimbra, Portugal).

Next steps in the selection process

25 April 2024

The jury will announce the Architecture and Emerging winners during an event at CIVA (Centre for Information, Documentation and Exhibitions on the city, architecture, landscape and urban planning in Brussels). The announcement will be followed by a conversation between the President of the international jury, Frédéric Druot, the director of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Anna Ramos, the director of CIVA, Nikolaus Hirsch and a representative of the European Commission.

May 2024

Awards ceremony at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

The Architecture Prize winner and the Emerging Architecture Prize winner will receive a trophy and €60 000 and €30 000 each.

The finalists and the project supporters (those who commission the buildings) will also receive a sculpture recognizing their essential contributions to contemporary architecture.

About the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Awards (EUmies Awards) is awarded every second year to works completed within the previous two years by architects from countries participating in the Creative Europe programme.

The principal objective of the prize is to recognize excellence and innovation in the field of architecture. It also highlights the important contribution of European professionals to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment, investing in a high-quality living environment for everyone.

Tagged in:  Creative Europe
Published:  20 Feb 2024