Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Published:  30 May 2024

These are the 2024 European Heritage Awards winners

The European Commission and Europa Nostra announce the 2024 winners of the European Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards. 26 outstanding heritage achievements from 18 countries have been awarded Europe’s top honour in the field.

Collage of images of the winners of the 2024 European Heritage Awards

Organisations and individuals from 38 European countries submitted a total of 206 eligible applications. These were evaluated first by dedicated selection committees and then, the awards’ jury, composed by 12 European experts made the final selection. 

22 outstanding projects from EU Member States and countries associated to the Creative Europe programme received a European Heritage Award. In addition, four projects from the United Kingdom were awarded the Europa Nostra Award.

These are the winners in the five categories

Conservation & Adaptive Reuse


Education, Training & Skills

Citizens’ Engagement & Awareness-raising

Heritage Champions

Grand Prix laureates and the Public Choice Award winner announced at Awards Ceremony

The Grand Prix laureates and the Public Choice Award winner – each receiving €10 000 – will be announced during the Award Ceremony whichwill take place on 7 October at the Romanian Athenaeum, in Bucharest, Romania. The event will be co-hosted by Iliana Ivanova, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth and Hermann Parzinger, Executive President of Europa Nostra.

The ceremony will be a highlight of the European Cultural Heritage Summit 2024, co-funded by the European Union, which will take place between 6 and 8 October in Bucharest under the high patronage of the President of Romania, H.E. Klaus Iohannis.

About the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 

The European Commission launched the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards in 2002 and Europa Nostra ran the initiative ever since. For 21 years, the awards have been a key tool to recognise and promote the multiple values of cultural and natural heritage for Europe’s society, economy and environment.

Tagged in:  Creative Europe
Published:  30 May 2024