Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Designated European Capitals of Culture

European Capitals of Culture have already been designated until the title year 2028.

These are as follows:






Ongoing competitions for future Capitals of Culture

Competitions are running for title-years 2029 and 2030.

2029 competitions

In 2029, Poland and Sweden will both host a European Capital of Culture.


Poland had its pre-selection meeting on 23-27 October 2023, with 4 cities short-listed:

  • Bielsko–Biała
  • Katowice
  • Kołobrzeg
  • Lublin

The final selection meeting in Poland will take place in September 2024.


Sweden convened its pre-selection meeting on 20-21 February 2024, with 2 cities short-listed:

  • Kiruna
  • Uppsala

The final selection meeting in Sweden will take place in December 2024.

2030 competitions

In 2030, 3 cities will hold the title of European Capitals of Culture:

How to apply

Competitions are organised at the national level with the publication of a call for submission of applications by the responsible authority (usually the national Ministry of Culture).

This new framework was amended in September 2017 by another Decision of the European Parliament and the Council.

This decision makes it possible for cities in EU candidate countries, potential candidates  or members of the European Free Trade Association party to the Agreement on the European Economic Area (so-called EFTA/EEA countries) to hold the title in 2021, 2024, 2028, 2030 and 2033.

These cities are selected through an 'open competition', meaning that cities from various countries may compete with each other.

Cities wishing to hold the European Capitals of Culture title should await the announcement of a competition in their own country, and then complete and submit a bid in response to the call for applications published.

List of European Capitals of Culture

Select a year

How to display the capitals

Results: 22 results

Poland and Sweden

European Capitals of Culture 2029.

Composite image of the 4 Polish cities of Bielsko–Biała, Katowice, Kołobrzeg and Lublin

Czech Republic, France and EFTA/EEA countries, candidate countries and potential candidates

European Capitals of Culture 2028


Latvia and Portugal

European Capitals of Culture 2027

Liepaja, 2027 European Capital of Culture in Latvia

Oulu and Trenčín

2026 European Capitals of Culture in Finland and Slovakia.


Chemnitz and Nova Gorica

2025 European Capitals of Culture in Germany and Slovenia