Skip to main content

Culture and Creativity

EUmies Awards Day 2024

The EUmies Awards Day 2024 celebrates the winners of the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture / Mies van der Rohe Awards 2024 and the best European architecture.

14 May 2024
Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and Palau Victòria Eugènia, Barcelona (Spain)

About the event


Following the announcement of the winners in Brussels on 25 April, the EUmies Awards Day takes place in Barcelona on 14 May. 


The EUmies Awards Day includes the 2024 EUmies Awards Ceremony, the exhibition of the 2024 prize edition, and the EUmies Awards Talks. This last includes winners, finalists, jury members of the 2024 prize as well as clients who make the works possible.

© EUmies Awards, 2024

The EUmies Awards Talks begins at 15:30 and counts with the participation of authors of the winning and finalist works as well as their clients. Océane Ragoucy, an architect, curator and editor, fellow of the LINA European architecture platform is moderating the talks.

The EUmies Awards Exhibition showcases the 40 works selected by the jury, with more information about the nominations, finalists and winners. 

The Awards Ceremony takes place in the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and will count with the participation of Normunds PopensDeputy Director-General of the Directorate-General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture at the European Commission. It will also include a sound installation by architect and artist Gisle Nataas from Oslo, Norway.

EUmies Awards Talks

15:30 - 17:00


Océane Ragoucy, architect, curator and editor, fellow of the LINA European architecture platform.

Panel members

  • Robert Konieczny, Plato Contemporary Art Gallery in Ostrava (Moravia-Silesia) by KWK Promes, Katowice (Silesia)
  • Amelia Tavella, Rebirth of the Convent Saint-François in Sainte-Lucie-de-Tallano (Corsica) by Amelia Tavella Architectes, Aix en Provence (Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur) 
  • João Branco and Paula del Río, Square and Tourist Office in Piódão (Central Portugal) by Branco del Rio, Coimbra (Central Portugal)
  • Elena Orte and Guillermo Sevillano, Gabriel García Márquez Library in Barcelona (Catalonia) by SUMA arquitectura, Madrid (Community of Madrid)

17:15 - 19:00


Océane Ragoucy, architect, curator and editor, fellow of the LINA European architecture platform.

Panel members

  • Geir Brendeland and Olav Kristoffersen, Hage in Lund (Scania) by Brendeland & Kristoffersen architects, Trondheim (Trøndelag)
  • Roberto González García, Reggio School in Madrid, (Community of Madrid) by ANDRES JAQUE / OFFICE FOR POLITICAL INNOVATION, Madrid (Community of Madrid)
  • Gustav Düsing and Max Hacke, Study Pavilion on the Campus of the Technical University of Braunschweig (Lower Saxony) by Gustav Düsing and Büro Hacke, Berlin (Berlin) 

About the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Awards (EUmies Awards) is awarded every second year to works completed within the previous two years by architects from countries participating in the Creative Europe programme.

The principal objective of the prize is to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture. It also highlights the important contribution of European professionals to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment.

The EUmies Awards are organised by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe with the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union; a programme which proudly celebrates its 10. anniversary in 2024.

Tagged in:  Creative Europe