Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Published:  17 Jan 2024

40 works shortlisted for the 2024 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The jury has shortlisted 40 works that create high-quality living environments for everyone from 362 nominations from 20 different countries.

collage of 40 works shortlisted for the 2024 EU prize for contemporary architecture

The 7 members of the international jury and representatives from the Fundació Mies van der Rohe and from the European Commission met in Barcelona in November 2023 to evaluate the 362 nominations and drafted a shortlist of 40 works.

Members of the jury

  • Frédéric Druot (chair)
  • Martin Braathen
  • Pippo Ciorra
  • Tinatin Gurgenidze
  • Adriana Krnáčová
  • Sala Makumbundu
  • Hrvoje Njiric

Highlighting today’s shared culture of architecture throughout Europe

The 40 works shortlisted are examples of how architects continue to undertake the endeavours to design responsibly, ethically and environmentally. They also highlight the importance that architecture, urban planning and governance need to work together in an even stronger way to achieve long term city projects.

The jury frequently referred to “ambition” considering that architecture is an activity of public interest and must be designed ensuring high-quality living spaces and built environment for everyone. Among the 40 selected works, an important number are transnational projects, and half of the selected works are located in relatively small cities and towns.

Next steps until the announcement of the winners

February 2024

The jury will announce the finalists. Then, the jury members will visit these works and take their final decision.

April 2024

The Architecture and Emerging Winners will be announced .

May 2024

Awards ceremony at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.


The Architecture Prize winner and the Emerging Architecture Prize Winner will receive a trophy and respectively €60 000 and €30 000.

The finalists and the project supporters (those who commission the buildings) will also receive a sculpture recognizing their essential contributions to contemporary architecture.

About the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Awards (EUmies Awards) is awarded every second year to works completed within the previous 2 years by architects from Creative Europe participating countries.

The principal objective of the prize is to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture. It also highlights the important contribution of European professionals to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment.

Tagged in:  Creative Europe
Published:  17 Jan 2024