Skip to main content

Culture and Creativity

Maastricht Treaty, The Netherlands

The Maastricht Treaty (1991-1992) was a milestone for European integration: it was in Maastricht that the then 12 Member States agreed to proceed with the economic and monetary union leading to the introduction of the Euro, to reinforce the democratic representation, and to extend the competences to new areas such as culture. The Province building in which the treaty was negotiated and then signed on 7th February 1992 is today its visitor and exhibitions centre.

Find out more about the selection of the site from the panel's report.

Tagged in:  Creative Europe