Skip to main content
Culture and Creativity home page Culture and Creativity home page

Culture and Creativity

Gepubliceerd op:  26 Apr 2024

Here are the 2024 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture winners

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the Winners of the 2024 edition after the jury visited the 7 finalist works. The award ceremony will be held on 14 May in Barcelona.

View of the two winners of the 2024 EUmies Awards

After visiting the finalist works, the 7 members of the international jury picked the Study Pavilion on the campus of the Technical University of Braunschweig by architects Gustav Düsing and Max Hacke as the Architecture winner and the Gabriel García Márquez Library in Barcelona by SUMA Arquitectura as the Emerging winner.

Good practices and references for local city policies

Both works show the paths that contemporary architecture takes to tackle sustainability, social equity, technological advancements, well-being, cultural preservation, resilience and adaptation, economic viability and globalization within an ethical practice.

The Study Pavilion of the Technical University of Braunschweig is rewarded for its ability to push an idea to its limits, creating a welcoming environment where people can find happiness, while simultaneously challenging the constraints of established regulations concerning ecological sustainability.

The Gabriel García Márquez Library in Barcelona represents a place that quickly became an exceptionally dynamic and busy place for education, culture and social encounter.

Awards ceremony

The Awards ceremony will take place on 14 May at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona and will count with Mr. Normunds Popens Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General Education, Youth, Sport and Culture. The celebration will also count with lectures and debates with the winners, the finalists and their clients.

The Architecture Prize winner and the Emerging Architecture Prize Winner will receive a trophy and respectively €60 000 and €30 000. 

The finalists and those who commission the buildings will also receive a sculpture recognizing their essential contributions to contemporary architecture.

About the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Awards (EUmies Awards) is awarded every second year to works completed within the previous 2 years by architects from Creative Europe participating countries.

The principal objective of the prize is to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture. It also highlights the important contribution of European professionals to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment.

Tagged in:  Creative Europe
Gepubliceerd op:  26 Apr 2024