Skip to main content

Culture and Creativity

Announcement of the 2028 European Capital of Culture

The selection panel announces if Budva (Montenegro) or Skopje (North Macedonia) will become one of the three 2028 European Capital of Culture.

20 September 2023
House of European History, Brussels

On 20 September at 15.00, Ms Marilyn Reddan, Chairperson of the Panel for the European Capitals of Culture, announces the name of the city from an EFTA/EEA country, a candidate country or a potential candidate to be European Capital of Culture in 2028.

© European Union

Budva or Skopje

The two competing cities are Budva (Montenegro) and Skopje (North Macedonia).

The designated city will share the title with České Budějovice in the Czech Republic and a city in France, yet to be designated in December 2023.

The announcement takes place at the House of European History in Brussels, after two days of hearings and deliberations.

Live streaming


The European Capital of Culture action is an initiative of the European Union that highlights the richness and diversity as well as common cultural aspects in Europe.

The goals of this initiative are more relevant than ever:

  • to provide Europeans with opportunities to learn more about each other's cultures
  • to enjoy their shared history and values
  • to experience the feeling of belonging to the same European community
  • to develop European cultural connections and partnerships
  • to underline the role of culture in the development of cities

Each year, two or three cities in Europe hold the title. In 2023, the European Capitals of Culture are Elefsina in Greece, Timisoara in Romania and Veszprem in Hungary.





Tagged in:  Creative Europe